The Concise Guide to Today’s Religions and Spirituality

Biblical, evangelical, and orthodox, The Concise Guide to Today’s Religions and Spirituality supplies readers with a comprehensive, A-to-Z information source. Supported by the trustworthy research of Watchman Fellowship and its president, James Walker, its thousands of entries give the basics needed to evaluate spiritual belief systems, movements, and phenomena–Christian, quasi-Christian, and non-Christian–and the people connected with them.

Definitions, descriptions, and cross references pack the maximum useful information into concise form, as in these examples:

Adler, Margo: A witch affiliated with the Covenant of the Goddess, the second-largest coven in the United States. Adler wrote the highly influential book Drawing Down the Moon. See GODDESS, WICCA.

Bioenergy: NEW AGE practice of healing, in which life-energy is balanced by opening blocked meridians. See HOLISTIC HEALING.

A great resource for individuals–parents, church leaders, counselors, friends who want to give sound advice–as well as for study groups and church libraries.

“Escaping the Cauldron” Ghosts and the Paranormal

The media environment of the 21st Century poses many difficult and troubling questions to the modern Christian, particularly on the subject of the supernatural. Often, these questions seem to have no answer. This book seeks to provide an answer, from a scriptural basis and with the view of a former Christian Witch and Medium.


Multiple Moralities And Religions In Post-soviet Russia

In the post-Soviet period morality became a debatable concept, open to a multitude of expressions and performances. From Russian Orthodoxy to Islam, from shamanism to Protestantism, religions of various kinds provided some of the first possible alternative moral discourses and practices after the end of the Soviet system. This influence remains strong today. Within the Russian context, religion and morality intersect in such social domains as the relief of social suffering, the interpretation of history, the construction and reconstruction of traditions, individual and social health, and business practices. The influence of religion is also apparent in the way in which the Russian Orthodox Church increasingly acts as the moral voice of the government. The wide-ranging topics in this ethnographically based volume show the broad religious influence on both discursive and everyday moralities. The contributors  reveal that although religion is a significant aspect of the various assemblages of morality, much like in other parts of the world, religion in postsocialist Russia cannot be separated from the political or economic or transnational institutional aspects of morality.


“Fringe-Ologybrings a poet’s eye to the frayed edges between the known and unknown, beliefand skepticism. . . . A dive into the paranormal even a hardcore skeptic like myselfcan enjoy.” —Mat Johnson, author of Pym

Takea strange and unsettling trip into the heart of the paranormal universe asjournalist Steve Volk tries to answer some of the most fundamental questions atthe heart of human existence. Fringe-ology will appeal to anyone curiousbut cautious about reports of paranormal experiences, psychic phenomena, andother unexplainable events—anyone who has ever wondered about the existence anafterlife, intelligent life on other planets, or the limits of extrasensoryperception. For fans of Fringe, Mythbusters,Medium, Heroes, Nova, and Lost, Volk’sscintillating journey into mystery illuminates the furthest boundaries ofpossibility and wonder.


The Skeptic’s Dictionary

A wealth of evidence for doubters and disbelievers

“Whether it’s the latest shark cartilage scam, or some new ‘repressed memory’ idiocy that besets you, I suggest you carry a copy of this dictionary at all times, or at least have it within reach as first aid for psychic attacks. We need all the help we can get.”
-James Randi, President, James Randi Educational Foundation, randi.org

“From alternative medicine, aliens, and psychics to the farthest shores of science and beyond, Robert Carroll presents a fascinating look at some of humanity’s most strange and wonderful ideas. Refreshing and witty, both believers and unbelievers will find this compendium complete and captivating. Buy this book and feed your head!”
-Clifford Pickover, author of The Stars of Heaven and Dreaming the Future

“A refreshing compendium of clear thinking, a welcome and potent antidote to the reams of books on the supernatural and pseudoscientific.”
-John Allen Paulos, author of Innumeracy and A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper

“This book covers an amazing range of topics and can protect many people from being scammed.”
-Stephen Barrett, M.D., quackwatch.org

Featuring close to 400 definitions, arguments, and essays on topics ranging from acupuncture to zombies, The Skeptic’s Dictionary is a lively, commonsense trove of detailed information on all things supernatural, occult, paranormal, and pseudoscientific. It covers such categories as alternative medicine; cryptozoology; extraterrestrials and UFOs; frauds and hoaxes; junk science; logic and perception; New Age energy; and the psychic. For the open-minded seeker, the soft or hardened skeptic, and the believing doubter, this book offers a remarkable range of information that puts to the test the best arguments of true believers.


The Paranormal Conspiracy

Teenage vampires. UFO sightings. Alien invasions. Ghost stories. The zombie apocalypse.

You don’t have to look far to see that today’s pop culture is becoming increasingly dominated by paranormal beings. Topics that once belonged to the fringes of the occult world have suddenly found their way onto every television channel and magazine cover.

What does this mean for Christians? How do we respond to a culture saturated with the paranormal?

In this compelling book, Dr. Timothy Dailey explores the counterfeit spirituality of the paranormal world. By confronting these phenomena head-on, Dailey exposes the dark truth behind these tales.

MythBusters meets This Present Darkness in this gripping new book.”–Peter Sprigg, senior fellow for policy studies, Family Research Council, Washington, D.C.

In a world that fears an uncertain future, Dailey offers hope: a way back to the one true source of spiritual connection. The only one that can satisfy our souls.
“You will be surprised. Well written and well worth reading!”–C. Fred Dickason, Th.D., professor emeritus, former chair of theology, Moody Bible Institute

“Dailey has taken on a difficult but very important subject and he has succeeded! Read the book, folks. Read the book.”–Jim Valentine, director, Christian Apologetics: Research and Information Service

“A well-documented examination and a powerful refutation of this whole dangerous movement.”–Walter A. Elwell, Ph.D., professor emeritus, biblical and theological studies, Wheaton College


Mutants and Mystics

In many ways, twentieth-century America was the land of superheroes and science fiction. From Superman and Batman to the Fantastic Four and the X-Men, these pop-culture juggernauts, with their “powers and abilities far beyond those of mortal men,” thrilled readers and audiences—and simultaneously embodied a host of our dreams and fears about modern life and the onrushing future.

But that’s just scratching the surface, says Jeffrey Kripal. In Mutants and Mystics, Kripal offers a brilliantly insightful account of how comic book heroes have helped their creators and fans alike explore and express a wealth of paranormal experiences ignored by mainstream science. Delving deeply into the work of major figures in the field—from Jack Kirby’s cosmic superhero sagas and Philip K. Dick’s futuristic head-trips to Alan Moore’s sex magic and Whitley Strieber’s communion with visitors—Kripal shows how creators turned to science fiction to convey the reality of the inexplicable and the paranormal they experienced in their lives. Expanded consciousness found its language in the metaphors of sci-fi—incredible powers, unprecedented mutations, time-loops and vast intergalactic intelligences—and the deeper influences of mythology and religion that these in turn drew from; the wildly creative work that followed caught the imaginations of millions. Moving deftly from Cold War science and Fredric Wertham’s anticomics crusade to gnostic revelation and alien abduction, Kripal spins out a hidden history of American culture, rich with mythical themes and shot through with an awareness that there are other realities far beyond our everyday understanding.

A bravura performance, beautifully illustrated in full color throughout and brimming over with incredible personal stories, Mutants and Mystics is that rarest of things: a book that is guaranteed to broaden—and maybe even blow—your mind.